The Vampire Knitting Club

Because I had a hard time sleeping, because this book was only 99 cents, and because I wanted to prove that I really do like paranormal cozy mysteries, you get a review of The Vampire Knitting Club by Nancy Warren.

I grew up with stories of Dracula and Buffy the Vampire Slayer and then was introduced to the world of Twilight when I was a young adult, so I was curious what flavor of vampires would appear in the very obviously-named The Vampire Knitting Club. In this book, you’ll get a hint of how dangerous vampires can be, but with the air of people who are so old that they might as well knit and have a good social life while they’re at it.

Lucy Swift is excited to visit her grandma in Oxford. She needs a break, following a breakup with her cheater boyfriend, and to take a breather while she decides what to do with the rest of her life. But when she gets to her grandmother’s shop, Cardinal Woolsey’s, it’s closed and her grandmother is dead. And there seems to be vampires living under the shop. Vampires who knit.

I don’t want to write much more than this. In fact, I would advise people interested in this book to not read the book blurb or the introduction inside the book (at least in the Kindle version). It gives too much away and took a bit of my enjoyment of discovery out of the book.

As for me, I enjoyed this book (even with too many spoilers in the book blurb). It had everything you could want in a first book in a cozy mystery series: a small-town feel as you explore three shops on one street, eccentric characters, a likable, smart, main character, and a mystery with enough red herrings to keep you guessing. And it has everything you’d want from a light paranormal cozy book: vampires, witches, familiars. And just a touch of what you’d like from a book with knitting: descriptions of scrumptious sweaters with yarns you’d love to sink your fingers into.

Because there’s so much going on in this book, some areas might seem too easy or convenient. Some may wish the book spent more time with the mystery. Or the vampires and witches. Or the knitting. The book moved at a good clip, and before you know it you’ll be finished and realize the last 10% is dedicated to a preview of the next book. Still, it hit every note I wanted hit with a cozy paranormal mystery, and I am considering getting the next book or two. (Amazon told me I could get the next five or so on Kindle for the price of one hardcover, and it is very, very tempting. Especially as spooky season AND sweater season is approaching)

Leave a comment